Gaining Habits

Each day is a new challenge that I gladly accept. I awaken every morning gearing up to learn something new. In my journey to become a better me, professionally and personally, I have gained a few habits.

Coffee is now my best friend.

I’ve always been a coffee drinker but only occasionally. Recently, I’m chugging 5 to 7 cups per day. Not much to a true coffee addict but in between cups I have a red bull or two and some chocolate. It’s at the point that I cannot do a thing until I have a mug of coffee in my hand. My mother has been the same way, needing that morning cup, since I could remember and I never understood it. I get it now!

Sleep is something I see less often. ID-100179276

I am up at 7 a.m. and go to bed at 4 a.m., which means only 3 hours of sleep for me. If I wake up any later than 7, I am immediately agitated with myself. It goes away pretty quickly due to my determination to stay positive in all things. Also, if I try to go to sleep before 4, my body will not let me. My body and mind has simply gotten used to being awake for so many hours. There was a point when I got burnt out not being able to get at least 6 hours of sleep at night, but I think that had a lot to do with not having a routine throughout the day to fill up the space. It seems like I’m on autopilot now.

ID-10067217

Breaks come and go quickly.

Now, I’m not a complete workaholic. While the long, caffeine induced hours are wisely spent with hours of reading, writing and networking, there are breaks.  I take a half an hour here and there throughout the day to play a word game or seek-and-find to sharpen my mind and give it a little rest from the tasks’ intensity. It adds to my productivity.

The little grown people work with me.ID-10072078

My children are my biggest supporters. They keep me on my toes and never let me stray from the goal. We do everything together. Their basketball practices are part of my workouts. Trips to the library for their schooling are never ended without me getting business-related books. If I spend a substantial amount of time writing, they are also writing or studying. If I’m curled up reading, they are doing the same. It brings such a smile to my heart to have them work with me in a sense.

These may not seem like the “traditional” habits of a successful person but they are just right for me. Don’t get me wrong. There are plenty of other habits that are starting to develop, however these are the ones most effective. And we all know I march to the beat of my own timpani.

By no means am I suggesting that you do what I do. Do what works best for you in trying to be a better you. Just make sure, whatever you do, you’re always moving forward on a positive path. Anything else is a waste.

Until next time,

Peace & Blessings

Leave a Reply

