Raiding The Library Shelves

On the road to getting my degree in English Lit, I’ve been perusing the recommended reading list which consists of 207 authors and almost double the amount of titles. Many of the titles I had heard of but hadn’t the chance to read them over the years. Also, a lot of them are covered on the Graduate Record Examination (GRE).

Welp, there’s no time like the present.

Visiting my neighborhood library I picked out some of the classics from the list and will start reading as soon as this post is complete. Here’s a list of my selections:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

My Antonia by Willa Cather

The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner

A Passage to India by E. M. Forster

A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

The Legend of Sleep Hollow by Washington Irving

Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison

1984 by George Orwell

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

Native Son by Richard Wright

 

Some good ones, right?!

You can follow my academic reading on the new page on the site titled, “Reading Bucket List”. On this page you will find the titles and as I complete each book there will be a link to a breakdown of each which will include the synopsis and a review.

This journey of being a prolific writer will go no where without being a prolific reader. So I’m going to get nice and cozy with a good book this evening. Will probably do the eenie-meanie system to pick my first read.

 

Until next time.

2 thoughts on “Raiding The Library Shelves

    • Yes, that’s what I meant. I’ll reword it. ☺
      Been trying to decide if I want to stay local or attend a school elsewhere. There is also the option of self-ed; taking the exams in my own time and then transferring the credits to a school of my choice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

