30 Day Challenge: Day 9

Day 9 started out not very enjoyable. The beginning of the day I spent in bed. Even though there are no more surgeries scheduled, there are still random days when I’m down for the count. Mostly due to having a stent within my kidney. If I don’t stay hydrated enough it will cause major problems and with the heat it can be difficult to keep the right amount of liquids in.

After popping two Tylenol and getting a bit of rest I was up and at ’em again. Slowly but surely I have sifted through all my open projects for myself and others. It can be a difficult task because while I want to complete others’ projects, I sometimes feel like I’m neglecting my work. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love helping other writers in whatever way I can. However, I have a hard time saying “No” so I take on more than I should at times. With work being backed up the task has become much greater. I’m working through it though.

My night included a good book – APE: Authors, Publishers, Entrepreneurs – How to Publish a Book by Guy Kawasaki and Shawn Welch. I was so excited when I finally got the e-book. This book had been on my “Books To Get” list since it hit the street. Guy Kawasaki is one author that I highly respect as he gives incredible advice to writing professionals. His books “Enchantment” and “What The Plus” are also on my reading list and sit awaiting my attention on my phone.

The first part of the book, “Authors”, did not disappoint. While much of Guy’s advice I was aware of, there were many things that I didn’t know and look forward to implementing including crowdsourcing edits, which is a very interesting idea. Within the Author section there was a really cute video link that made me laugh. It honestly mimicked many conversations I have with beginner writers and exposes how “easy” people really think the business of writing is. By the way, click the links above to follow the authors of APE (they have some pretty cool tweets as well as helpful hints for others).

Here is the video:

Leave a Reply

