30 Day Challenge: Day 4

Day 4 and I’m still trucking.

Today, I figured I would get a bit of studying done. The books in which I am using are both from the Writer’s Digest family – Writer’s Market Companion and Get Known Before the Book Deal by Christina Katz. Both books I’ve had for several years but I haven’t picked them up since the first time I read them.

Instead of reading them cover to cover, I decided to peruse through looking through pages that I highlighted or stuck a sticky note in. The reasoning for going back to books I’ve already read is to get insight on what I should do in my writing career.

I know where I want to go with my writing. The biggest hurdle is getting there in an effective way without crashing and burning in the process. I’ve had many setbacks and hiccups thus far, many of which discouraged me greatly. Yet, I continue to move forward, even when it seems like I’m not moving at all. That’s what matters most – that I keep getting up off the mat.

While I understand my endeavors are highly ambitious, I know that there is nothing or no one that can stop me. Only I hold the keys to this car and at some point I have to stop going in reverse or neutral and just drive. That’s what this 30 day challenge is about – getting the fuel I need to drive for as long as I draw breath on this earth. If not for me than for my children and the many people I know will be touched in some way by the stories that I can tell.

It’s all about moving forward. In other words I need to SHUT UP AND DRIVE!

Leave a Reply

