30 Day Challenge: Day #1

The first day to start anything new is always the hardest. This is Day 1 of my 30 Day Challenge. My main focus today was getting my body in shape. The workout that I decided to take on is grueling for me but I will get used to it as time progresses.

The workout consists of

  • 20 squats
  • 15 lunges (each leg)
  • 15 single-leg bridges (each leg)
  • 30 bird dogs
  • 15 supermans 
  • 10 bent-leg raises
  • 20 crunches
  • 20 heel touches
  • 30 second side plank

done 3 times each.

With weights

  • 20 triceps kickbacks
  • 20 bicep curls w/ front press
  • 20 90-degree raises
  • 20 standing shoulder flies
  • 20 reverse curls w/side press

done 3 times each.

When I finished this workout for the first time there was sweat everywhere and my entire body ached. However, it was well worth it.

 

Another thing I worked on today was a poem that has taken me a few days to complete called L.W.B. or Living While Black. You know, like driving while black or walking while black. It’s a poem that woke me up out of my sleep the other morning and I’ve been working on it ever since. The piece was inspired by the Mike Brown situation that has shaken our entire country and honestly the world.

 

I am so excited about this 30 day challenge and hope that you all stay tuned for all the exciting things yet to come. This is a wonderful experience. You can also follow little tidbits on Twitter at #30DayChallenge

Leave a Reply

