Who Said That?

It has been said, the best way to flow with a story is to listen to your characters. The ones that talk the loudest evidently have some things to say.

Well, there has been some chatter going on with characters of mine. They pop up in my dreams at night and randomly start having conversations while I’m working on other writing assignments. It’s actually becoming a bit weird.

The really ironic part is that the characters are from 3 of the 6 novels I have been working on over the past few years. This makes for a very confusing writing session because I never know which one to start with.

Luckily for me, out of the three loud mouths, only two are really insisting. Now, that may not seem like a good thing, but any writer will tell you that when characters become anxious they can be a pain in the butt. A major pain if they’re loud enough. But it also means you’re moving swiftly to your goal of completion – at least the rough draft if nothing else.

Wonderful for me, I have the esteemed pleasure of sorting these gals out and sending them back into their respective corners.

I must admit, though, it is pretty fun listening to them. Their stories have been on my flash drive for years and now I am putting them together in a way that makes me proud to be a writer.

So, the next time your characters have diarrhea of the mouth, let them go for a while. You may just get that novel that’s been sitting on your computer taking up space going. And trust me, there is no better feeling as a writer.

Tell me: Do your characters “talk” to you?

Leave a Reply

