Oh What A Day

Yesterday had to be one of the worst days I have had in some time – mentally and emotionally. No matter how much I tried to make things better, they got tremendously worse.

Firstly, I awoke with a banging headache and my back felt like I’d been hit by a car. It could have been due to the extensive kickboxing lessons I’ve taken. Or the fact, while overselling a joke, I tripped over the curb and took a tumble the night before. Nevertheless, these aches were nothing to cry over.

Then it happened. In my personal life I received a HUGE blow. I uncovered some really disturbing information. It was as if someone with the largest hands, pulled back as far as they could and slapped me in the face. You know, the kind of slap that is bound to leave a distinctive hand print.

At this point, there could be no possible way that things could get any worse. At least, that is what I thought. And then reality struck.

My driver’s license and debit card were missing. The last time I had them was the night before. I am very careful about things like this and came to the conclusion that the cards must have fallen out while I was overselling my joke. (I’ve been warned by friends about overselling jokes too.)

Regardless that all these issues were happening, and at a rapid pace, I was still resilient and continued with my day. It can’t get any worse, right? Wrong.

A writing job that I had been in the running for decided not to pick me for their project. Applicants had been asked to write articles of different styles and lengths to pass to the next level of hiring. I had reached the last level and was ultimately turned down. That was saddening enough, mostly because I really wanted and needed the job. It would have been the highest paying writing gig I’ve ever had. Not getting the job was bad enough but the coordinator wrote me a very disheartening email about my final article.

It said, “Thank you for your contribution. Unfortunately, the quality of the content is well below what we are looking for….The article is not up to the high standards that we have here at our company.” My ego was crushed, especially because the first couple articles I wrote were praised for their uniqueness and that I had a “desirable writing style”. Also, I worked really hard on them.

Reeling from all the bad news and bad luck, I took a moment to breathe. My emotions were all over the place and I began beating myself up mentally trying to figure out what I could have written differently.

After my moment of irritation and a bit of self-loathing, I decided the best thing to do was to work on #NaNoWriMo. This would bring up my spirits, especially due to the fact that I am working on The Langley Heights Chronicles. Fans that have been around from the beginning know that rehashing the idea for this novel is a big deal for me.

It was going great. I was typing furiously, fueled by the day’s frustrations, and determined to add to my word count. A few thousand words in, the laptop stalls out of no where. Immediately, I’m telling myself, “Oh, I have to save before this thing loses my work.” Before there was even a chance to hit Save, the words that no writer wants to see popped up – Microsoft Office Word Is Not Responding.

“No, no, no, no,” I said aloud to myself. Then I thought, there was no way that after all that typing, the program didn’t auto-save at least once. So, I calmed down and reopened Word. Scrolling down to start where I left off, I realized what I had feared. All of the work I had done, the thousands of words typed, were gone. My response, “Oh Hell!”

This is when I shut all the windows that were up on the computer, laid down and pulled the covers over my head. To be totally honest, I was surprised I had gone so long through the day before I got to that point. I’ve worked hard at not allowing things to get me down to control my bipolar reactions. It has been really working for me too.

So my long and stressful day came to an end with me laying down and contemplating all that had occurred; the aches, the emotional slap, the ego burst, and the mental break. What could I do to counteract it all? I fell asleep to this thought, not working until 1 a.m. as I usually do.

Waking up this morning, back still aching; instead of lying around and reliving the awful day that I had. I decided to get straight up, hop on the computer and begin this day with confidence. No need to allow a bad day to ruin the rest of my week.

F.Y.I. – I am riding a creative high with the determination to make today great. Be ready for a lot of stuff coming from me, not to overwhelm you but to excite you.

Until next time.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Oh What A Day

Leave a Reply

