First Ten

Yesterday, I went to the Central Branch Library and took out some really cool reads. A couple of the books are classics and others are lesser known to me.

These selections are from an academic reading list that I created for myself using university and college English curriculum breakdowns. The books and authors/poets/playwrites listed are eclectic and there are many to sort through. However, I believe the reading list will only aid me in this here thing called a writing career.

As I walked around, list in hand, I picked books from groups within the list such as collections, memoirs, fiction,  and plays. It was interesting maneuvering the stack I was compiling as I walked around the large building.

Once I had chosen ten of the books on the list I made my way to the check out line. Well, there wasn’t a line, but I filed over to the desk as if there were folks ahead of me.

My check out receipt marked ten books and read as such:

  1. The Woman Warrior – Maxine Hong Kingston
  2. The Tempest  – William Shakespeare
  3. The Diary of Samuel Pepys – (edited) Richard Le Gallienne
  4. The Professor’s House – Willa Cather
  5. Things Fall apart – Chinua Achebe
  6. The Death of Ivan Ilyich – Leo Tolstoy
  7. The Ghost Road – Pat Parker
  8. Atonement – Ian McEwan
  9. Purple Hibiscus – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  10. A Handbook To Literature – William Harmon, C. Hugh Holman

I even got a brand new library card, since mine was due to expire. Lucky for me, this one never expires.

So far, I’ve begun A Warrior Woman by Maxine Hong Kingston. It is very intriguing thus far. There will be a book report coming soon. 🙂

I will be sure to let you all know how it turns out. Also, I will keep you posted as I dive through my new extensive list.

I’m really excited.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

