Working for Self

Many people believe that because I work for myself that I have all the time in the world to do whatever I want. They also believe that I have to answer to no one and my job should be a cake walk. Boy, do I wish.

When you work for yourself it is no different from working for someone else.

You should be:

  • Organized – Your work area should be clean and clear of clutter. A cluttered work area can clutter the mind. All your supplies should be within arms reach, or at least within the same room. No need in scattering things everywhere, because you will get nothing accomplished.

 

  • Schedule Oriented – This is very important. Create a schedule of things that need to get done within a day, week, or month. Try to stick to it as much as you can. Successfully having a schedule can help you get goals accomplished quicker, and it can help you structure your work into your life without too much hassle.

 

  • Determined – Determination is key to any endeavor. If you aren’t determined at what you do, you will fail. When you awake in the morning, one of your first thoughts should be about your work. If it’s not one of the first things you think about, you may want to try something new.

These three things should be a part of your work ethic. I could definitely name more things you should be or could do, but these are the most important. (At least to me)

The other thing is that when you work for yourself, you are not actually working for yourself.

I mean, of course you are the driving force behind the product or service you offer. However, when you are digging your nails into the world of business you find that to stay afloat, you have to work with and for others – even if the company is run by you.

For example: To create a bigger buzz, as well as to hone my writing skills, I freelance.

Which means, I work for other people within working for myself.

Working for yourself may seem like the easy thing to do. I will tell you that being self-employed takes more effort than working for an outside company.

Remember:

  • You are responsible for your product/services (Which means creation and promotion)
  • You are who consumers will contact if they have questions or concerns.
  • You are the one who makes each and every decision (Remember one decision can make or break your company)

Now if this small amount of information still has you believing that what I, or any other self-employed person, do is easy – I invite you to hang with me for a day and see the amount of work that goes into being your own boss.

Working for myself is a true dream come true, but it is the blood, sweat and tears that make it all worth while. There is nothing EASY about it either.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

