A Thousand Tears

A thousand tears I’ve cried

and not one of them was shed for you

They say you only cry for those who earn it

and when it came to you, that just wasn’t true

You may see the wetness upon my cheek

but please don’t hand me a tissue

The pain in the windows of my soul should display

by all means you were my issue

So many sleepless nights

yet I laid my head down in your bed

Too terrified to dream

and I’m haunted by the words you never said

Silence my soul with acts of civility

somehow my true feelings I try not to show

My heart beats more slowly these days

somehow I still have no idea if I should go

Leave a Reply

