These Chains

These chains

that have restrained my vocal chords

making me believe

there was nothing to say

no voice

knowing I have to get them off

free the words

sentences that form

prose and articles

These chains

that have been put on by oppressors past

making me believe

they matter more than I

so loyal

knowing I have to get beyond this

free the skeletons

paragraphs filled with

dialogue and plot twists

These chains

that have bound my inner being

making me believe

I need to take control

no choice

knowing I have to break loose

free the creativity

situations released through

poems and stories

These chains

that will hold me no longer

making me believe

others should know my plight

so resilient

knowing there’s someone who suffers like I

free their restraints

essays composed of

patience and hope

Leave a Reply

