Witnesses

My children watch me spiral out of control

Feeling the pressure through to my soul

Tryin’ desperately to hide my anguish from their eyes

But its hard to look at your child and lie

While I fight to be better for the sake of them

In front of their faces I’m condemned

By those who are also in their world

Don’t want them to see the effects of all the disrespect hurled

Shit is thrown so much it starts to break me down

Feeling as empty as a ghost town

They don’t need to see it but they do

But they also see me push through

While the hurt eats me alive

They see me strive

The support they give brings me back to reality

Everyone has negatives but its the positives I want them to see

They know under all the dirt there’s a gem

Only can be concerned they know who I really am

Leave a Reply

